Animals / Dogs / Canine organization

The Federation Cynologique Internationale

The Fédération Cynologique Internationale is the World Canine Organisation. It includes 91 members and contract partners (one member per country) that each issue their own pedigrees and train their own judges.

The Fédération Cynologique Internationale was created on May 22nd, 1911 with the aim to promote and protect cynology and purebred dogs by any means it considers necessary.

The founding nations of the FCI are as follows:

  • Germany (Kartell für das Deutsche Hundewesen and Die Delegierten-Commission)
  • Austria (Osterreichischer Kynologenverband)
  • Belgium (Société Royale Saint-Hubert)
  • France (Société Centrale Canine de France )
  • Netherlands (Raad van Beheer op Kynologisch Gebied in Nederland)

The Federation disappeared due to the first World War and in 1921, the Société Centrale Canine de France and the Société Royale Saint-Hubert re-created it.
The new articles of association were adopted on April 10th, 1921 and on March 5th, 1968, the FCI got the legal personality by decree.

The FCI recognises 344 breeds. Each of them is the 'property' of a specific country. The 'owner' countries of the breeds write the standard of these breeds (detailed description of the ideal type of the breed), in co-operation with the Standards and Scientific Commissions of the FCI. The translation, updating and publication  of the standards are carried out by the FCI. These standards are THE reference for the judges at shows held in the FCI member countries, but also for the breeders in their attempt to produce top-quality dogs.

The FCI has five sections: Europe, The Americas and the Caribbean, Asia and the Pacific, Middle-East and Africa.

The FCI makes sure that the pedigrees and judges are mutually recognised by all the FCI members.

Every member country conducts international conformation shows as well as working/hunting trials and tests, Agility and Obedience competitions, races, coursing and herding trials. Results are sent to the FCI office where they are processed and homologated. When a dog has been awarded a certain number of awards, it is eligible  for the title of International Beauty, Show, Working, Beauty and Working, Agility, Obedience, Race, Beauty and Performance or Herding Champion. These titles are homologated by the FCI.

The FCI website:

Authentication required

You must log in to post a comment.

Log in
There are no comments yet.